Image sourced from CCGHQ

Imprint Tip Card

Rules Tip: Imprint

Some artifacts on the metallic plane of Mirrodin can capture another card’s essence, or imprint that card onto itself. As an ability word, imprint has no hidden rules meaning. It simply appears on certain artifacts to call attention to an ability that exiles a card. Each of those artifacts has another ability that makes use of the exiled card in some way. Every imprint ability is different, as is each ability that takes advantage of the exiled card.

As soon as an artifact with an imprint ability leaves the battlefield, it has no memory of any cards it had previously exiled. You’ll have to exile a new card to once again enjoy the artifact’s benefits. Imprint abilities are versatile and allow you to customize the effects to best suit your strategy.

Find the latest rules updates at